Take Action at this Critical Time for the Peel Watershed

The Yukon government recently made an historic decision: to open one of the world's biggest natural treasures, the Peel River watershed, to development. Home to the greatest constellation of wild mountain rivers in North America, the Peel Watershed is one of the last large intact ecosystems on the continent.

A coalition of three Yukon First Nations and two Yukon environmental organizations have launched a legal case to defend the Peel Watershed, represented by Thomas R. Berger, O.C, Q.C. After a victory in court in 2014 they are now gearing up to defend that victory through an appeal by the Yukon Government on August 20th and 21st, 2015.

After 6 years of careful study and consultation, the Peel Watershed Land Use Planning Commission recommended protecting 80% of this extraordinary wilderness with the remaining 20% open to carefully controlled development. The Yukon Government's announcement on January 21, 2014, threw out the Peel Watershed Land Use Planning Commission's Final Recommended Plan and instead implemented the government's own unilateral plan for the region. This new plan resulted in 71% of the region being opened up for mineral and oil and gas staking.

Learn about the differences between the Final Recommended Plan and the Yukon Government Plan.

Join with local people, First Nations, tourism and guide outfitting industries in support of the Peel Land Use Planning Commission's Final Recommended Plan.Donate to the Peel Legal Case

Write a letter to the editor. Here's some places you can
send it:

Yukon News editor@yukon-news.com
Whitehorse Star letters@whitehorsestar.com
Globe and Mail letters@globeandmail.com
Toronto Star lettertoed@thestar.ca
Canadian Geographic editor@canadiangeographic.ca
and The Walrus letters@thewalrus.ca

Write to the Yukon Government and tell them what you think of their decision. Here's who to send your letter to:

Premier Darrell Pasloski: darrell.pasloski@gov.yk.ca
Minister of the Environment Currie Dixon: currie.dixon@gov.yk.ca
Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Scott Kent: scott.kent@gov.yk.ca

You Can Also...


Throw a Party for the Peel!

Throw a house party to help us fundraise for the Peel Legal Case. We'll provide you with a kit of information, decorations and door prizes. We'll even provide entry forms for your guests into our grand prize draws. Any donations you collect will go directly the Peel Legal Case.

To get your kit please contact achurch@cpawsyukon.org.


Peel Court of Appeal Events

There are a number of ways to get involved in the Peel Court of Appeal hearing - from physically taking it in at the Yukon Law Courts, to following online, to taking part in public events throughout the Yukon. For all the details check out the Peel Trial page.


Join the Friends for Peel Watershed Protection on Facebook.

Follow Us


Share your ideas to help with fundraising and raising awareness at achurch@cpawsyukon.org.

Yukon Conservation Society
302 Hawkins Street Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1X6
(867) 668-5678 • ycsed@ycs.yk.ca
CPAWS Yukon Chapter
P.O. Box 31095, 211 Main St., Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 5P7
(867) 393-8080 • info@cpawsyukon.org